All posts by CTC

Event 2020 canceled!

Event 2020 canceled


For this year’s edition (30.10./01.11.2020), the line-up of the event »COACH THE COACHES«, traditionally based in Basel, Switzerland, read like a »Who’s Who« of the worldwide children’s tennis experts. The accommodation for the numerous international speakers and the registered participants of the workshop had been booked and the supporting programme had already been organised down to the smallest detail. When the two initiators, Kai Gerber and Reimar Bezzenberger, finally plan and carry out something, it is known to have both hands and feet. Like all event organisers around the globe, the well-rehearsed Gerber/Bezzenberger duo has of course been following the development of the Corona location for months with a keen eye. Now the two tennis enthusiasts have made a decision.

“Not an easy decision…”

“Despite all the euphoria and anticipation of what is sure to be another unique event, it is of course extremely strenuous and also nerve-racking to weigh up what could and could not be done at the end of October,” emphasises Kai Gerber in an interview with “Tennisredaktion.de”. “We have waited really long with our decision whether Coach the Coaches can take place this year or not and the decision was certainly not easy for us. Nobody can look into the future and, above all, correctly assess potential danger situations for all those involved so far in advance of the event and, in addition, implement all the necessary safety and distance measures on site in compliance with the law, seems almost impossible for us at a very informal event like Coach the Coaches”, Gerber continues.

“New start in 2021!”

And our colleague Reimar Bezzenberger also sees the security of the Basel event at risk: “Our event in Basel is characterised by the fact that the facets of children’s tennis are conveyed at first hand and are further deepened in the subsequent personal and intensive exchange. Networking is practically impossible live under Corona conditions. In addition, numerous speakers and workshop participants would most likely have to be quarantined after the event or would not be allowed to enter at all. In view of these facts and the current negative development in the Corona area, I think it makes sense for all parties involved to cancel this year’s event, in order to hopefully be able to start again next year.

A new date has already been set: “See You in Basel” will therefore not be announced again until next year. The 3rd edition of »COACH THE COACHES« has already been scheduled for the weekend of 29th to 31st October 2021. For further information, please contact the official media partner of »COACH THE COACHES«, »Tennisredaktion.de«.

Concentrating synergy

Concentrating synergy


Dear tennis lovers, dear coaches! We, that is the people who have initiated and organized »COACH THE COACHES« (CTC) , your »International Workshop Kids Tennis«, are very happy that today we can inform you about an official press release of the organization »Professional  Tennis Registry« (PTR), represented by Herbert Schnaubelt (photo: PTR). According to this, »CTC« and »PTR« are on their way to a new partnership for this year’s event in Basel.

» Read more…

Great Interview

Great interview


Reimar Bezzenberger and Kai Gerber, mainly in charge of organizing the Kids Tennis Workshop »COACH THE COACHES« in Basel, have had an overwhelming feed-back after the first two years of presenting this event. Because of this reason this international come-together will take place for the third time this year. Just as Roger Federer’s ATP home tournament , the »SWISS INDOORS«, takes place in Basel, numerous speakers of international reputation and lots of highly motivated coaches from lots of different countries will come to Basel as well on October 30th and November 1st, 2020 to be professionally trained in tennis for young children and teenagers.

Professional back-up

As official media partner,  »Tennisredaktion.de« will help the innovative organizers to make up to 100 interested coaches  see beyond their own noses that weekend. We expect the event  to be exciting  and deliberately close to practical training again. However, there is still some time left before this weekend for kids tennis starts in Aesch/Basel. So in the meantime the colleagues Bezzenberger and Gerber agreed to give us an interview and they have answered numerous questions about this event in detail. Have fun reading the interview and  »See you in Basel!«

» To the interview…

Offizieller Medienpartner

»Tennisredaktion.de« on board


The »International workshop – Kids Tennis – COACH THE COACHES« be supported by the agency AINFACH.com – Kellermann MEDIEN from Waltrop, Germany, from now on. Because of this their online portal »Tennisredaktion.de«, which is renowned beyond the borders of Germany, will be the official media partner of the workshop from now on. „We’re very happy about this very fruitful new partnership”, says Reimar Bezzenberger, who is one of the initiators of »COACH THE COACHES« and who has been a member of the team of thirteen experts of »Tennisredaktion« in charge of tennis for children and at school for many years. In a first step the new media partner worked on the logo of the event and, moreover, created a fresh corporate design with high recognition value. The official website of the workshop has a shiny new look as well. The cooperation is meant to be lasting and to be extended step by step.

» www.tennisredaktion.de  |  » ainfach.com

Review 2019

Review 2019


The concluding statement of the international speakers of the 2nd international kids tennis workshop  »COACH THE COACHES«  can be summed up easily: „The success of teaching tennis to children depends crucially on the coach’s engagement. He must know exactly his pupils’ individual abilities and stages of development and consequently adapt the corresponding ways of practicing and playing to what the children are able to do at the moment.” This is exactly what was shown to the 73 motivated male and female coaches from all over Europe in an impressive way, giving lots of examples of how you can do this.

Clear goals

Kai Gerber and Reimar Bezzenberger, who were mainly in charge of organizing the event, found the right words in their opening lecture: „We want to impart knowledge about how to teach tennis to children in many ways. We think that an exchange of knowledge between the speakers and the participants is very important und we would like to start networks so that teaching tennis to children will be exciting, motivating and connected with lots of positive experiences.”

Something for everybody

And it was just these networks that made 12 very renowned coaches of kids’ tennis come to Basel and pass their knowledge on to highly motivated colleagues. Thus quite intentionally, the participants were presented with a wide variety of special knowledge. It started with the level ‘white’ for children aged 4 to 5, then there were the Play+Stay levels »red«, »orange« and »green«, followed by practicing with advanced players, so that all levels of teaching tennis to children were presented, following the slogan »From the rolling to the flying ball«.

„In the first place tennis must be fun for children. Many different competitions with varied ways of playing must be included and it is not the most important aspect that they are always associated with playing tennis”, says Martin Rocca, top speaker from Spain. And this is true for all the other presentations. Patrick Simon (France) fascinated the participants in his presentation on techniques with children’s rackets and foam balls. „The exercises I’m going to show you now are exactly what I did with Amelie Mauresmo at the beginning of each practice. She always warmed up using children’s rackets and foam balls.”

Andy Dowsett (England) concentrated on how to improve children’s ability to play in his vivid presentation and he surprised everybody by showing how children are able to put tactical goals into practice easily. There were also aspects of how to practise coordination in varied ways on each level , having the children’s age on your mind. At the end of two very interesting days of the workshop Tamas Boggy (Hungary) and Rodolphe Handschin (Switzerland) impressively demonstrated how to pass on to practicing with children on an advanced level.

Alle Beiträge von CTC

Event 2020 abgesagt!

Event 2020 abgesagt!


Das Line-Up des traditionell im schweizerischen Basel beheimateten Events »COACH THE COACHES« las sich für die diesjährige Auflage (30.10./01.11.2020) wie das »Who is Who« der weltweiten Kindertennis-Experten. Die Unterkunft für die zahlreichen internationalen Referenten und die angemeldeten Teilnehmer des Workshops waren gebucht und das Rahmenprogramm bereits bis ins kleinste Detail organisiert. Wenn die beiden Initiatoren Kai Gerber und Reimar Bezzenberger schließlich etwas planen und durchführen, dann hat das bekanntermaßen Hand und Fuß. Wie alle Event-Veranstalter rund um den Globus, verfolgt aber selbstverständlich auch das eingespielte Doppel Gerber/Bezzenberger die Entwicklung der Corona-Lage seit Monaten mit Argusaugen. Nun aber ist eine Entscheidung gefallen.

„Keine leichte Entscheidung…“

„Bei aller Euphorie und Vorfreude auf ein sicher wieder einzigartiges Event ist es natürlich extrem anstrengend und auch Nerv zehrend, abzuwägen, was Ende Oktober gehen könnte und was nicht“, betont Kai Gerber im Interview mit »Tennisredaktion.de«. „Wir haben wirklich lange gewartet mit unserer Entscheidung ob Coach the Coaches in diesem Jahr stattfinden kann oder nicht und die Entscheidung ist uns gewiss nicht leicht gefallen. Niemand kann in die Zukunft schauen und vor allem potentielle Gefahrenlagen für alle Beteiligten derart weit im Vorfeld der Veranstaltung richtig einzuschätzen und noch dazu alle erforderlichen Sicherheits- und Abstandsmaßnahmen vor Ort gesetzeskonform sicher umzusetzen, erscheint uns bei einem sehr familiären Event wie es Coach the Coaches darstellt, schier unmöglich!“

„Neuer Anlauf in 2021!“

Und auch Kollege Reimar Bezzenberger sieht eben das Faustpfand des Baseler Events gefährdet: „Unsere Veranstaltung in Basel zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass die Facetten des Kindertennis hautnah vermittelt und im anschließenden persönlichen und intensiven Austausch weiter vertieft werden. Live ist das Netzwerken unter Corona-Bedingungen praktisch nicht möglich. Hinzu kommt, dass zahlreiche Referenten und Workshop-Teilnehmer mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit nach dem Event in Quarantäne müssten oder erst gar nicht einreisen werden dürfen. Ich denke, dass es auf Grund dieser Tatsachen und der aktuell negativ verlaufenden Entwicklung in Sachen Corona für alle Beteiligten vernünftig ist, den diesjährigen Termin zu canceln, um dann im kommenden Jahr hoffentlich einen neuen Anlauf nehmen zu können.“

Neuer Termin steht bereits: »See You in Basel« heißt es demzufolge also erst wieder im nächsten Jahr. Terminiert wurde die 3. Auflage von »COACH THE COACHES« auch bereits – und zwar für das Wochenende vom 29. bis 31. Oktober 2021. Nähere Informationen liefert hierzu der offizielle Medienpartner von »COACH THE COACHES«, »Tennisredaktion.de«.

Synergien bündeln

Synergien bündeln


Liebe Tennisfreunde, liebe Coaches! Wir Initiatoren und Organisatoren von »COACH THE COACHES« (CTC), Eurem »International Workshop Kids Tennis« freuen uns sehr, Euch heute von einer offiziellen Pressemitteilung der Organisation »Professional Tennis Registry«, kurz: »PTR«, vertreten durch Herbert Schnaubelt (Foto: PTR), berichten zu dürfen. Demnach zurren »CTC« und »PTR« ihre Partnerschaft für das diesjährige Event in Basel zusammen.

» Weiterlesen…

Doppelinterview mit »Tennisredaktion.de«

Großes Doppelinterview


Eine äußerst positive Resonanz haben die beiden Initiatoren des in Basel stattfindenden Kindertennis-Workshops »COACH THE COACHES«, Reimar Bezzenberger und Kai Gerber, in den ersten beiden Jahren der Ausrichtung erfahren. Grund genug, das international ausgelegte »Come-Together« in diesem Jahr zum dritten Male zu präsentieren. Parallel zum ATP-Heimturnier von Roger Federer, den SWISS INDOORS, kommen in Basel am 30. Oktober und 1. November 2020 wieder zahlreiche international renommierte Referenten und jede Menge wissenshungrige Coaches aus aller Herren Länder angereist, um sich auf dem Gebiet des Kinder- und Jugendtennis professionell fortzubilden.

Professionelle Unterstützung

Als offizieller Medienpartner wird »Tennisredaktion.de« die innovativen Initiatoren dabei unterstützen, bis zu 100 interessierte Tennistrainer an besagtem Wochenende über den Rand des Ballkorbs hinaus schauen zu lassen. Doch bevor das sicher wieder spannende und bewusst praxisbezogene Kindertennis-Wochenende in Aesch/Basel auf die Reise geht, ist es noch ein wenig hin. Die Kollegen Bezzenberger und Gerber haben sich derweil zum Doppelinterview zur Verfügung gestellt und hierbei zahlreiche Fragen rund um ihre Veranstaltung ausführlich beantwortet. Viel Spaß beim Lesen und: „See You in Basel!”

» Hier geht`s zum Interview…

Offizieller Medienpartner

»Tennisredaktion.de« an Bord


Der »Internationale Workshop – Kids Tennis – COACH THE COACHES« wird ab sofort von der Waltroper Agentur AINFACH.com – Kellermann | MEDIEN unterstützt. Deren über die Grenzen hinaus renommiertes Internetportal »Tennisredaktion.de« ist demzufolge ab sofort offizieller Medienpartner des Workshops. „Wir freuen uns sehr über diese sehr fruchtbare neue Partnerschaft”, so Reimar Bezzenberger, einer der Initiatoren von »COACH THE COACHES« und seit vielen Jahren Mitglied des dreizehnköpfigen Expertenteams der »Tennisredaktion« – zuständig für die Bereiche Kinder- und Schultennis. Als erste Maßnahme überarbeitete der neue Medienpartner das Eventlogo und schuf darüber hinaus ein frisches Corporate Design mit einem hohen Wiedererkennungswert. Auch der offizielle Internetauftritt des Workshops erstrahlt in neuem Glanz. Die Kooperation soll nachhaltig betrieben und sukzessive ausgebaut werden.

» www.tennisredaktion.de  |  » ainfach.com

Review 2019

Review 2019


Die abschließende Kernaussage der internationalen Referenten anlässlich des 2. Internationalen Workshops Kids Tennis »COACH THE COACHES« ist spielend leicht formuliert: „Der Erfolg beim Kindertennis steht und fällt mit dem Engagement des Trainers. Er muss die individuellen Fähigkeiten und die Entwicklungsstufen seiner Schüler genau kennen und darüber hinaus die passenden Spiel- und Übungsformen an den jeweiligen Könnensstand anpassen.“ Exakt diese Zielsetzung wurde 73 motivierten Trainerinnen und Trainern aus ganz Europa eindrucksvoll mit vielen Praxisbeispielen unter Beweis gestellt.

Zielsetzung klar definiert

Die beiden Organisatoren Kai Gerber und Reimar Bezzenberger fanden im Rahmen ihres Eröffnungsvortrags die richtigen Worte: „Wir wollen Fachwissen zum Kindertennis vielfältig vermitteln. Uns ist der Austausch zwischen den Referenten und den Teilnehmern untereinander sehr wichtig und wir wollen dazu beitragen, dass es zu einer Vernetzung kommt, damit Kindertraining spannend, motivierend und mit vielen Erfolgserlebnissen verbunden ist.“

Alle Facetten bedient

Und genau diese Netzwerke trugen dazu bei, dass zwölf hochkarätige Kindertennisexperten nach Basel kamen und ihr Wissen an hochmotivierte Kollegen weitergaben. Den Teilnehmern wurde ganz bewusst ein fachlicher Spannungsbogen präsentiert. Angefangen von Lernstufe »weiß« der Vier- bis Fünfjährigen über die Play+Stay–Stufen »rot«, »orange« und »grün« bis hin zum Leistungstraining, wurden sämtliche Facetten des Kindertrainings  nach dem Motto »Vom rollenden zum fliegenden Ball« vollständig demonstriert.

„Kindern muss Tennis vor allem Spaß machen, inklusive  mit vielseitiger Wettbewerbe mit abwechslungsreichen Spielformen, die primär nicht immer mit dem Tennisspiel zu tun haben müssen“, so Toprefenet Martin Rocca (Spanien). Und diese Aussage galt spiegelbildlich für alle Vorträge. Patrick Simon (Frankreich) begeisterte die Teilnehmer in seiner Techniklektion mit Kindertennisschlägern und Schaumstoffbällen. „Diese Übungen, die ich Euch nun zeige, habe ich genauso zu Beginn eines jeden Trainings mit Amelie Mauresmo gemacht. Sie hat sich dabei immer mit Kinderschlägern und Schaumstoffbällen eingespielt.“

Andy Dowsett (England) stellte mit viel Esprit die Schulung der Spielfähigkeit bei Kindern in den Mittelpunkt seiner Ausführungen und sorgte für großes Erstaunen, wie spielend leicht taktische Spielvorgaben von Kindern umgesetzt werden können. Einblicke in das vielseitige, altersgerechte Koordinationstraining rundete jede einzelne Lernstufe ab. Zum Abschluss zweier hochinteressanter Workshoptage demonstrierten Tamas Boggy (Ungarn) und Rodolphe Handschin (Schweiz) eindrucksvoll den Übergang zum Leistungstennis mit Kindern.

Rezensionen & Zitate


#1: „Zwei Tage Fortbildung in Basel gehen zu Ende und wieder viele neue Ansätze oder Bestätigungen der eigenen Arbeit… wie, dass Kinder nicht zu früh auf das große Feld wechseln oder mit zu großen Schlägern spielen sollten und sich die beste Technik mit kleinen Schlägern entwickeln kann. Auch sonst gab es viele neue Anregungen… Danke für das coole Programm und die gute Organisation!“

#2: „Had a great time over the weekend in Switzerland learning from some of the best children’s tennis coaches from around the world. So glad I went despite my fear for flying and you never know one day I could be presenting what I do to inspire children to have a love for the game…“

#3: „Noch einmal allerbesten Dank! Ich hoffe auf ein Wiedersehen bei einer gleichartig niveauvollen Veranstaltung oder dann spätestens zur 2020er Ausgabe (dafür melde ich mich hiermit schon mal an…“

#4: „Wer eine neue Idee hat, gilt als Spinner – bis sich diese durchsetzt“, getreu dem Zitat von Ernest Hemingway möchte ich Euch Danke sagen für dieses großartige Wochenende mit viele neuen Eindrücken. ich freue mich schon auf die Fortsetzung. Kids-Tennis 2.0…“