Event 2020 canceled!

Event 2020 canceled


For this year’s edition (30.10./01.11.2020), the line-up of the event »COACH THE COACHES«, traditionally based in Basel, Switzerland, read like a »Who’s Who« of the worldwide children’s tennis experts. The accommodation for the numerous international speakers and the registered participants of the workshop had been booked and the supporting programme had already been organised down to the smallest detail. When the two initiators, Kai Gerber and Reimar Bezzenberger, finally plan and carry out something, it is known to have both hands and feet. Like all event organisers around the globe, the well-rehearsed Gerber/Bezzenberger duo has of course been following the development of the Corona location for months with a keen eye. Now the two tennis enthusiasts have made a decision.

“Not an easy decision…”

“Despite all the euphoria and anticipation of what is sure to be another unique event, it is of course extremely strenuous and also nerve-racking to weigh up what could and could not be done at the end of October,” emphasises Kai Gerber in an interview with “Tennisredaktion.de”. “We have waited really long with our decision whether Coach the Coaches can take place this year or not and the decision was certainly not easy for us. Nobody can look into the future and, above all, correctly assess potential danger situations for all those involved so far in advance of the event and, in addition, implement all the necessary safety and distance measures on site in compliance with the law, seems almost impossible for us at a very informal event like Coach the Coaches”, Gerber continues.

“New start in 2021!”

And our colleague Reimar Bezzenberger also sees the security of the Basel event at risk: “Our event in Basel is characterised by the fact that the facets of children’s tennis are conveyed at first hand and are further deepened in the subsequent personal and intensive exchange. Networking is practically impossible live under Corona conditions. In addition, numerous speakers and workshop participants would most likely have to be quarantined after the event or would not be allowed to enter at all. In view of these facts and the current negative development in the Corona area, I think it makes sense for all parties involved to cancel this year’s event, in order to hopefully be able to start again next year.

A new date has already been set: “See You in Basel” will therefore not be announced again until next year. The 3rd edition of »COACH THE COACHES« has already been scheduled for the weekend of 29th to 31st October 2021. For further information, please contact the official media partner of »COACH THE COACHES«, »Tennisredaktion.de«.

Event 2020 abgesagt!

Event 2020 abgesagt!


Das Line-Up des traditionell im schweizerischen Basel beheimateten Events »COACH THE COACHES« las sich für die diesjährige Auflage (30.10./01.11.2020) wie das »Who is Who« der weltweiten Kindertennis-Experten. Die Unterkunft für die zahlreichen internationalen Referenten und die angemeldeten Teilnehmer des Workshops waren gebucht und das Rahmenprogramm bereits bis ins kleinste Detail organisiert. Wenn die beiden Initiatoren Kai Gerber und Reimar Bezzenberger schließlich etwas planen und durchführen, dann hat das bekanntermaßen Hand und Fuß. Wie alle Event-Veranstalter rund um den Globus, verfolgt aber selbstverständlich auch das eingespielte Doppel Gerber/Bezzenberger die Entwicklung der Corona-Lage seit Monaten mit Argusaugen. Nun aber ist eine Entscheidung gefallen.

„Keine leichte Entscheidung…“

„Bei aller Euphorie und Vorfreude auf ein sicher wieder einzigartiges Event ist es natürlich extrem anstrengend und auch Nerv zehrend, abzuwägen, was Ende Oktober gehen könnte und was nicht“, betont Kai Gerber im Interview mit »Tennisredaktion.de«. „Wir haben wirklich lange gewartet mit unserer Entscheidung ob Coach the Coaches in diesem Jahr stattfinden kann oder nicht und die Entscheidung ist uns gewiss nicht leicht gefallen. Niemand kann in die Zukunft schauen und vor allem potentielle Gefahrenlagen für alle Beteiligten derart weit im Vorfeld der Veranstaltung richtig einzuschätzen und noch dazu alle erforderlichen Sicherheits- und Abstandsmaßnahmen vor Ort gesetzeskonform sicher umzusetzen, erscheint uns bei einem sehr familiären Event wie es Coach the Coaches darstellt, schier unmöglich!“

„Neuer Anlauf in 2021!“

Und auch Kollege Reimar Bezzenberger sieht eben das Faustpfand des Baseler Events gefährdet: „Unsere Veranstaltung in Basel zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass die Facetten des Kindertennis hautnah vermittelt und im anschließenden persönlichen und intensiven Austausch weiter vertieft werden. Live ist das Netzwerken unter Corona-Bedingungen praktisch nicht möglich. Hinzu kommt, dass zahlreiche Referenten und Workshop-Teilnehmer mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit nach dem Event in Quarantäne müssten oder erst gar nicht einreisen werden dürfen. Ich denke, dass es auf Grund dieser Tatsachen und der aktuell negativ verlaufenden Entwicklung in Sachen Corona für alle Beteiligten vernünftig ist, den diesjährigen Termin zu canceln, um dann im kommenden Jahr hoffentlich einen neuen Anlauf nehmen zu können.“

Neuer Termin steht bereits: »See You in Basel« heißt es demzufolge also erst wieder im nächsten Jahr. Terminiert wurde die 3. Auflage von »COACH THE COACHES« auch bereits – und zwar für das Wochenende vom 29. bis 31. Oktober 2021. Nähere Informationen liefert hierzu der offizielle Medienpartner von »COACH THE COACHES«, »Tennisredaktion.de«.